3 star

Hotel Caledonian

Gran Via De Les Corts Catalanes 574, Las Ramblas, Barcelona, 08011

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

89% (65 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Some problems

12/6/2016

"-"

No info on checking in, or in room about breakfast times etc. Shower in bath. No rail or slip mat, very dangerous. Staff unable to communicate. No English channels on television.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/3/2016

"-"

Great hotel Clean & Freindly staff The only thing is no tea & coffee in room that let`s it down but definitely would book again thanks Mr Ray Barclay

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/2/2016

"A very comfortable stay"

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights this week in this hotel and it was extremely comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, freshly made beds every day and full set of fresh towels each day. The staff at reception could not have been more helpful and helped us with all our queries and always friendly and welcoming. To sum up a fab hotel very central to the city and good value for money.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/10/2015

"Our stay"

Our stay at the Caledonian was excellent we had a very good visit.

Guest rating:

Good

13/9/2015

"Clean and friendly hotel"

A small basic hotel that met our needs. Well situated within close proximity to bus and metro network. We would have welcomed tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We were in room 603 and experienced a lot of noise from the lift especially early morning. Staff approachable and friendly.

Guest rating:

Good

6/6/2015

"Great location & helpful staff"

Guest rating:

Good

7/5/2015

"-"

A great location in the Rambles and very nice and helpful staff, the hotel was very clean, We had a nice room with Balcony in the front of the hotel. Barcelona is a great city and we shall go back again. The TV sadly had no English stations and the WIFI was very erratic.

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/12/2014

"Fantastic "

Lovely hotel,staff and vary cosy place to stay in Barcelona

Guest rating:

Good

16/12/2014

"Extremely well placed and comfortable hotel."

The hotel rooms we had were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the staff were charming and helpful. Both myself and my friend would stay there again and recommend it to other people. It is ideally placed for the airport bus, visiting the Ramblas and using the City Tour buses. We would suggest it helpful for directions to point out which way to walk when arriving on the airport bus, left or right.

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/10/2014

"Great location"

Great location with a short five minutes walk to centre. Staff are very helpful and rooms spotless. Easy to check in and out and nice little bar for a quiet drink.

Guest rating:

Good

24/10/2014

"very central to all amenities"

Very central,to metro,buses,hotel room very clean,staff at front desk very helpful and friendly,breakfast good,only let down,was you only get one pillow,but we asked for extra and house keeping sorted it out,very Quickly,

Guest rating:

Good

15/7/2014

"Nice Hotel and great base to see the sights of Barcelona"

WIFI in rooms would be nice but not essential

Guest rating:

Excellent

12/5/2014

"excellent location"

Very friendly, great location, rooms very clean and serviced daily. ten min stroll to La Rambla, great restaurants locally, we went to the Spanish F1 and found this to be an excellent base for our trip..

Guest rating:

Good

23/2/2014

"Clean, spacious, comfortable, central location, helpful, friendly staff, good value for money. "

Directions to hotel need to be a lot clearer.

Guest rating:

Excellent

31/10/2013

"Great central location, nice basic room, lovely bathroom, good breakfast and nice staff"

Thought the hotel was in a very good location for everything, very central. Easy to get to from airport on aerobus. Can walk to all the main areas and the underground stop very near for more distant locations. Nice clean rooms and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Only slight negative was two single beds together rather than a double bed, as we had requested a double room. Staff pleasant and breakfast very good. Would recommend the hotel as a great base for exploring Barcelona.

Guest rating:

Average

15/9/2013

"Like most. "

One young man an women at front desk were great. One man could use improvementOverall good

Guest rating:

Good

7/6/2013

"-"

Although we asked for a double we were given a twin. The main problem was the smell of drains from the bathroom which was almost continuous. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the price was reasonable. I would recommend it to others.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/6/2013

"Very clean and bright."

Excellent position for walking to main areas of the city. Very clean hotel with fresh towels every day. Would certainly reccommend this hotel to anybody going to barcelona. Mature Couple from ireland

Guest rating:

Average

11/4/2013

"Location very good but some issues with hotel"

Breakfast is expensive and the hot food had almost run out although service is supposed to be until 10am. Paying for the use of the safe is a rip-off and it uses a key, not a combination lock, which could easily be lost. There are no information booklets in the room. The hairdryer has no power so take your own. Plus points are that it is in a good location and the staff were very pleasant.

Guest rating:

Good

14/3/2013

"The room although plain was sufficient, clean, comfortable and warm. The staff were excellent. Engli"

The room although plain was sufficient, clean, comfortable and warm. The staff were excellent with lots of good advice. English TV would have made our overall rating Excellent.

Guest rating:

Good

20/11/2012

"Very Nice Hotel."

Hotel was very nice,staff very helpful,room was very nice and clean great power shower wish i could take home,breakfast was good but not much choice and the same every morning,Hotel is in great spot close to everything would book again.

Guest rating:

Good

18/9/2012

"great appearance, a little let down by the quality of the room."

Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Great location, bathroom window opened into a terrible chimney. Hotel parking seemed a little expensive. All in all, good. Will return

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/8/2012

"exceptionally clean. breakfast included would be nice."

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/7/2012

"-"

We very much enjoyed our stay at your hotel. It was very clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We found it very good value for money and would recommend your hotel to anyone.

Guest rating:

Good

12/7/2012

"Good, clean friendly hotel, would be better with softer beds"

Hotel is close to Ramblas and Metro Stations. Staff very accomodating and hotel is clean with very good bathrooms. We had a room with a small balcony which was nice to sit at in the evening.Only compliant was the beds were much harder than we like.

Guest rating:

Good

4/7/2012

"Good Hotel "

My family stayed at Hotel Caledonian from 30th June to 3rd July and we enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and tidy and staff are friendly. The only thing that perhaps they could improve is if they have a tea or coffee facility in the rooms which makes a lot of difference, there are no English channels in their TVs which I find it very odd as there are more English speaking guest there that weekend! It would also be handy if they modernised their hair dryer. Apart from these 3 things I would certainly go back and book this hotel again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/6/2012

"Great spot!"

Room was clean, bed was comfy, it`s a 5 min walk to Pl. Catalunya and Nom Sense cervezeria around the corner does amazing food!

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/6/2012

"Pleasant service with a very helpfull staff and good location"

Loved our stay at Hotel Caledonia, the staff were very helpfull. Also the proimity of the Hotel to popular landmarks in Barcelona made the stay every more enjoyable.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/5/2012

"very professional staff - rooms immaculate"

Guest rating:

Good

24/4/2012

"Great location"

Great location for sight seeing 10 mins from the square . Clean and staff very friendly take a travel kettle if you want a cuppa would stay here again

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/4/2012

"Value for money"

Friendly and helpful staff, clean room, excellent quality for the price, and within walking distance of Las Ramblas.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/4/2012

"very helpful staff at reception!"

Very clean hotel had a great weekend stay!

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/3/2012

"-"

Very clean, r4easonabnly priced, lovely breakfast. Staff very courtous and friendly and helpful. Great central location for visiting central Barcelona. bus and metro stops a few paces away.

Guest rating:

Good

2/2/2012

"Staff excellent in this Good 3 star hotel"

Very pleasant English speaking staff. Good location

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/1/2012

"lovely hotel perfect locatio would return again :)"

very clean, friendly staff, prime location, nice rooms

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/9/2011

"Very much recommended."

Very spacious room, friendly and helpful staff, good location. An excellent hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

20/9/2011

"small room for the price, very clean, "

Small Hotel on main traffic street, Parkining is ?20 per day at the hotel.Its kept very well with everything spotless, no Breakfast offered but lots all round the area, Hotel is 5 walk min from Catalunya Square (one of the main squares in the city)

Guest rating:

Good

28/8/2011

"Great location in the heart of the city"

Guest rating:

Average

15/8/2011

"A good place to stay for reliable service"

It`s a good hotel. I`d recommend just going out elsewhere for breakfast, but as a person who just spent two nights, I thought that the hotel was decent- nothing incredible, but good value that wasn`t too far from the hot spots.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/8/2011

"-"

Ideal for a stay in central Barcelona. Handy for all attractions but also surprisingly quiet. Very clean. Helpful and friendly staff.

More reviews >>

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

Hotel Caledonian

Gran Via De Les Corts Catalanes 574, Las Ramblas, Barcelona, 08011