4 star

Clontarf Castle Hotel

Castle Avenue, Clontarf, Dublin 3, Dublin, -

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

93% (36 reviews)

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/10/2018

"Great location very comfortable"

Stayed one night - great location very convient lovely walk along the sea frontStaff very friendly excellent breakfast only slight negative room next dose was being cleaned out at 7.30 am . Would definitely stay again

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/4/2015

"Beautiful Hotel delicious food welcoming staff."

Our 2 night stay at this hotel was excellent. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff and friendly welcoming and extremely helpful and all the food is delicious. The standard of service for breakfast and the food served is exceptional. Will return.

Guest rating:

Good

9/4/2015

"small rooms. limited facilities eg no pool, tiny gym"

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/1/2015

"A very friendly place"

Liked everything about this place, food, service, room, location. It was good value for money. Staff were exceedingly helpful.

Guest rating:

Good

31/12/2014

"Exceeded expectations. "

Impressive decorClose to portClose to DublinExcellent helpful staff

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/11/2014

"Clontarf Castle"

Very handy for ferry crossing only 20 minutes away Dublin Port. Staff at the hotel were friendly and were very good.

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/10/2014

"Very cool place!"

Staff and food were great!

Guest rating:

Good

21/7/2014

"-"

Location and setting are ideal. Hotel itself is beautiful and breakfast was delicious with many choices. However, I had prepaid breakfast and the restaurant and front desk did not have a record - let to having to accept charges to my room which then had to be reversed. "Security" deposit is still showing on my credit card, which has me wondering whether I will have to contact them to get it removed.

Guest rating:

Good

7/6/2014

"Fantastic breakfast."

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/4/2014

"We had a wonderful stay with you and would recommend the Clontarf to friends and family. We cannot"

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/11/2013

"Excellent relaxing stay"

Hotel at high standard as usual.

Guest rating:

Some problems

15/11/2013

"-"

Attractive hotel bug very stuffy and the beds aren`t particularly comfy although the staff were friendly

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/8/2013

"Excellent Hotel"

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Clontarf Castle, The Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help from check in to Chamber maid with directions and advice on best area to shop. If I had 1 bad point would be that we had a very noisy night due to a Wedding reception being held underneath our bedroom. But the food is well cooked and presented well. The rooms were very clean & well maintained. We would recommend this Castle to anyone wishing to be close enough to Dublin centre but far enough out on the coast road to enjoy the sea air.

Guest rating:

Good

27/5/2013

"Nice hotel in a beautiful location. Only minor complaint bottled water in room was chargeable."

Guest rating:

Good

20/5/2013

"The food that we ordered in the bar was not up to standard, we had chips which were reheated, "

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/5/2013

"Amazing!"

Possibly the one hotel I have ever stayed at that I would love to revisit. Fabulous building, wonderful location! Loved it. Thank you!

Guest rating:

Good

15/5/2013

"-"

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Unfortunately I didn`t have time available to sample the restaraunt. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. I would like a much better shower though, the only minus.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/5/2013

"A real gem on the Emerald Isle"

As a business traveller, this is an excellent hotel only 7km from the city centre.On this occasion I was there on a long weekend and have no qualms in recommending it.

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/4/2013

"Wonderful"

We choose this Hotel to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. We were delighted by everything this hotel had to offer. It`s beauty, character, ambience, bars, food, service and location were all excellent. My husband travels internationally and stays in many hotels so the Clontarf Castle was a wonderful choice as it offered him something different. `Different` can be hard to find but this hotel offered historical charm, with a fitting interior design to mark a contemporary, yet, period feel. We found it very easy to take public transport and there is also a wonderful promenade walk along the shore into Dublin. Thank you to Robert, on booking, for looking after my requests to make this stay special for my special husband. We will be back and will recommend this to our friends and family.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/1/2013

"Very clean, comfortable and friendly staff"

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/10/2012

"SUPERB"

this hotel certainly lived up to expectations, every thing was good from arrival to departure . it exceeded our expectations there were six of us ,we were all very impressed 5 stars from us..

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/8/2012

"Hospitality could not be matched brilliant stay thank you"

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/8/2012

"-"

Excellent place, great staff. The only one problem is being to far from the centre.

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/7/2012

"-"

We really enjoyed our stay at Clontarf castle. The room was spacious, nicely decorated ( as were all the public areas too!) and well equipped. The staff were polite and friendly. There was a nice atmosphere in the bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I look forward to staying here again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/6/2012

"beautiful hotel"

gem of a hotel will definetly be back,brillant food ,friendly staff brillant

Guest rating:

Good

26/1/2011

"A lovely Experience"

I stayed in Clontarf Castle around Halloween and had a great experience. Staff were helpful, the facilities were grand and the room was was tastefully decorated and very relaxing.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/11/2010

"A great place to stay"

Accommodation and food are excellent. Location, about 500 metres from a fine seafront walk, couldn`t be much better. It is also just over 1 mile to Dublin`s centre where all the top stores are located. Its one shortcoming is its lack of a swimming pool, but then you could try the local beach

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/10/2010

"Lovely hotel"

Loved the internal decorations - the pictures and suits of armour - charming hotel. Good value for Dublin.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

Clontarf Castle Hotel

Castle Avenue, Clontarf, Dublin 3, Dublin, -