3 star

Temple Bar Hotel

Fleet Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Dublin 2

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

85% (99 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Good

16/8/2015

"Excellent location but beware of noise & not so comfy bed!"

Hotel was in the perfect spot as it was walking distance to all bars, pubs & restaurants in the Temple Bar area. The hotel was clean & staff were friendly. It has its own club & bar and we stayed on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel so the noise levels from downstairs & outside were extremely loud until around 3/4am. And with an uncomfortable mattress it makes for a not so peaceful nights sleep!

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/12/2014

"good food good bed good location great people"

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/12/2014

"Excellent stay! "

An excellent hotel with friendly welcoming staff. The room was great, breakfast options were fab. A great location for centre of Dublin.

Guest rating:

Good

27/11/2014

"Temple Bar Hotel"

Good hotel, pleasant staff and clean rooms with excellent breakfast. Only negative was our room was over night club smoking area and was very noisy.

Guest rating:

Average

20/9/2014

"The position justifies the price"

Average standards. No fresh fruit at breakfast under cooked tomatoes and nothing remarkableIn the "Great Irish Breakfast" . Room 211 spacious but noisy from rear service area.

Guest rating:

Good

28/7/2014

"Beautiful hotel, high standard, but front rooms a bit noisy"

Although we only stayed in the hotel for one night I was very impressed. The rooms were beautiful, very clean & the staff were very friendly. The food was top standard too. We were in a room at the front of the hotel and found the noise outside to affect our sleeping. We knew the area was noisy but we couldnt sleep so when we asked to change rooms during the night the staff could not have been more helpful. We moved up a floor & got a room at the back of the hotel & it was perfect. If noise doesnt bother you then the hotel is perfect for you, if you need less noise just ask for a room at the back. All in all I would recommend the hotel as the standard was very high.

Guest rating:

Poor

2/3/2014

"Noise Central"

I know I choose to stay at the Temple Bar as it is the Heart of all the Bars but the noise whilst trying to sleep at night is unbearable, I had stayed previously and was at the back of the hotel were there was no noise but the front defintely need better windows, next time I would be requesting a room at the back of the Hotel, really not a good Hotel to stay in if they put you at the front of the Hotel unless you plan to stay up all night!

Guest rating:

Good

21/9/2013

"Great location"

I will stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it to others.

Guest rating:

Good

21/9/2013

"great location - nice bedrooms - "

great location & decent bedroom etc - only down side was staff attitude on break shift - really poor

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/6/2013

"Lovely hotel and staff"

Perfect location. Room was really big and clean. We weren`t there much (!!) but the staff we spoke to were lovely. Breakfast was really tasty also. Obviously the location means alot of noise but that is to be expected with the location in the heart of Temple Bar. Have nothing negative to say and will definately be staying there again

Guest rating:

Good

24/11/2012

"Incidentals"

Conditioner as well as shampoo in the bathrooms would be appreciated. The dispensers are somewhat awkward to use (placement, emission of liquid in sideways spurts).

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/12/2008

"excellent service for a 3 star, "

Excellent location, good sized room, friendly staff.

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/11/2008

"Everything was excellent"

Guest rating:

Good

24/11/2008

"-"

Hotel, clean and very nice. Reception staff not very friendly, and could be quite rude on occasions.

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/11/2008

"everything worked very well for us ex: location warm & welcoming hotel & staff "

small things reflect the star rating i.e bathroom towel rail would not heat even tho maintenance man came & attended to it Steet noise no-ones fault tho 5.30 A.M cleaningmachine was horrific A warning would have prompted a request for a back room

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/11/2008

"What a great stay"

Would recomend, excellant location, staff friendly will be back

Guest rating:

Good

11/11/2008

"Excellent value for money, great location. Some rooms near the bars and restaurants can be noisy."

Guest rating:

Good

20/8/2008

"Room 427 was very noisy during the night and early hours of the morning from young people outside"

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/6/2008

"excellent hotel in very livley area"

the hotel was great ,all of the staff were very helpfull &polite at all times.the room was very good ,will stay there again& will recomend it to anyone visiting dublin.

Guest rating:

Good

9/6/2008

"Excellent location in the heart of Dublin`s Temple Bar area"

We stayed three nights at the Temple Bar Hotel. You get exactly what it says on the tin: "Temple Bar". Location is excellent and the service is great.

Guest rating:

Some problems

28/5/2008

"Staff!!!"

On numerous occasions a number of staff members were seemingly unwilling to help, being very dismissive and not fully trained. On checkout the assistant manager annouced to the entire reception that my card had not been authorised for an amount of 16 euros, there was in fact over 800 in my account and the problem was at your end, she did not attempt to re try the card but said again it was not authorised, this was not only incorrect after checking with the bank but embarrassing for myself.In regards to the hotel in general it was fairly average, the breakfast was very minimal and the staff seemed to be more interested in turning the tables round as opposed to ensuring we had everything we needed, for example on both mornings I was not provided with a spoon to stir my coffee or a seperate knife to eat with after using the only one for spreading jam on toast.A poor effort overall from the hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

26/5/2008

"very clean ,very friendly and ideal location - will be booking next year"

Guest rating:

Good

6/5/2008

"-"

comfortable stay at the hotel very central hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

14/4/2008

"Great rooms and very well situated in the heart of Dublin :-)"

Service was execelent and food was great.

Guest rating:

Good

26/3/2008

"Perfect position in the heart of Dublin"

I have stoped here a few times now and overall it`s a lovely hotel right in the heart of Temple Bar, so great when you`ve had a few pints of the black stuff. The rooms are starting to look a bit dated and getting a tad shabby but don`t let that put you off i`ve stoped in much much worse.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/3/2008

"Its all about Location Location Location in Temple Bar!!"

If you want to go to Temple bar to party and have a great time then this is the hotel for you!! Its right in the center so you dont have far to stumble home.The hotel is very clean the rooms are not massive but big enough and the food is great..The staff are freindly enough and do a great job at keeping the hotel clean and tidy...

Guest rating:

Good

23/2/2008

"-"

Everything excellent except for useless waitress in the dining room for breakfast, who was very unfriendly and unhelpfull. Scrambled eggs were like rubber too. Rooms very nice and clean and spacious, reception staff very nice.

Guest rating:

Good

18/2/2008

"-"

Room 430, bathroom facilities poor, WC and sink not bolted down, a bit like using the loo on a boat! Breakfast should contain more `local produce`.

Guest rating:

Good

17/2/2008

"Convenient. Friendly. Efficient. Clean. "

Clean rooms. Dealt well with requests. Very well situated for central Dublin nightlife. Rooms well proportioned. Maybe could benefit from separate galzing to be able to shut out inevitable night noise from the location. Shame the `Full Irish` breakfast did not include any specifically Irish ingredients (e.g. White Pudding).

Guest rating:

Good

15/2/2008

"Outside noise from those returning from pubs at 1am-2:30am was intrusive. "

Other than the outside noise (you need better sound insulation) the service, accommodation and meals were very good value indeed.

Guest rating:

Good

10/2/2008

"-"

Very central hotel. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Staff very helpful. However, a bit noisy at night but that is to be expected considering the location.

Guest rating:

Good

29/1/2008

"Centrally located ideal for sight seeing and the night life of Temple Bar. "

Guest rating:

Poor

28/1/2008

"Do not stay there !!!!!"

Noisy ( I was given what they call a quite room that had an air-coditioner and kitchen extractor right outside the window. The rooms have seen better days. The Bar is run by somebody who needs training, could not find a bottle of Gordons gin and was slower than a snail. The so called Irish breakfast was an insult to Ireland!

Guest rating:

Good

28/1/2008

"Hotel right in the heart of Dublin making getting around very easy. "

Due to the hotels proximity to all the pubs/nightclubs rooms very noisy making sleep a bit difficult but we were aware of this so did not spoil our stay.Staff very pleasant and helpfull.We would recommend you to our friends

Guest rating:

Good

22/1/2008

"We had a wonderful weekend in the Temple Bar Hotel."

Thank you for a great stay, we were 15 years married and travelled down from Sion Mills on the bus for the weekend. We could not believe how friendly and accomodating the Dublin people were. The nightlife is excellent and the hotel was so handy for everything.

Guest rating:

Good

21/1/2008

"poor lighting in the bedrooms"

Very convient area with quick access to both the North & South of Dubln City. Problems at reception with staff giving wrong infomation to my visitors & didnt appear to pass on infomation to other staff at reception staff.

Guest rating:

Some problems

20/1/2008

"room"

not very warmbathroom even colder

Guest rating:

Good

18/1/2008

"Great Central location! "

Nice hotel, for this kind of price it cannot be beaten, and on the main street of Temple Bar itself, all the bars and restaurants are just a shrot stroll away. Very clean and the biggest bed I`ve ever seen! All in all, excellent value for money, would definitely recommend.

Guest rating:

Good

17/12/2007

"Great hotel, good central location."

Guest rating:

Average

3/12/2007

"Great Location, shame about the noise!!"

This hotel is in a fab location for shopping and going out, however because it is in the Temple Bar area dont go here for a quiet nite away, the noise didnt subside till at least 4 am. The room we were given was ok, bit on the small side but functional. We ordered room service for breakfast this was a let down as it was freezing cold when we received it and we had to pay to have it as room service so expected it at least to be edible!!! Would stay here again if was going to have a serious nite out drinking so could drown out the noise.

More reviews >>

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

Temple Bar Hotel

Fleet Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Dublin 2