4 star

The Clarence

6-8 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar, Dublin, Dublin 2

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

88% (164 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Good

10/2/2016

"Excellent location "

Breakfast on 1st morning .....not too hot ..but on 2nd morning I mentioned this as the eggs had been particularly cold ...and the subsequent breakfast much improved .

Guest rating:

Some problems

24/4/2015

"Wednesday night, empty hotel?. still got the room (no.207) over the pub beer garden? ????"

Wednesday night, empty hotel?. but still managed to secure the room overlooking the next door pubs beer garden but it was great when all the bar patrons went home at 3.30am - was able to sleep then? thanks Clarence desk staff for your kindness and sensitivity!?. another customer who will be staying elsewhere from now on!?..

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/4/2015

"Great hotel, amazing views and location. "

I have stayed here a few times and will certainly be coming back. Staff are very helpful and friendly. River views rooms are spectacular.

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/3/2015

"great location friendly staff restaurnt first class great menu and fantastic wine "

Well appointed room. Highly recommended. Enjoy your stay

Guest rating:

Good

12/12/2014

"-"

Would certainly stay again.staff very welcoming and room well appointed

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/9/2014

"-"

we had lunch in the restaurant attached to the hotel, we found the food ok but nothing special at all.A shame really as I was expecting a lot more..

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/8/2014

"Great location with helpful staff"

Hotel was easy to find, room was clean and neat. Staff were helpful. We booked for one night and stayed for two.

Guest rating:

Good

5/7/2014

"Nice hotel in a very handy spot "

The vacuum cleaning at 8am on a Saturday morning is a bit annoying

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/3/2014

"Great central place to enjoy Dublin from"

Friendly attentive staff and lovely clean room, what more do you need?!

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/1/2014

"A must"

Service and room was excellent

Guest rating:

Average

26/10/2013

"Staff were excellent! "

Small things would make a huge difference like tea and coffee making facilities in the room, free bottled water in room both standard in all other 4* hotels we have stayed. Hot choices at breakfast was brilliant but very disappointed with buffett virtually no choice.

Guest rating:

Good

1/10/2013

"Great spot in Dublin to be able to see all the main areas of the city in a walking distance"

Room was ok a little small but well furnished.Nice bathroom. The staff were excellent in their treatment of us.A little disappointed that there were no tea /coffee facilities in the room.We had a room at the back and it was extremely noisy at night enough to ask for ear plugs,the noise went on until 2/3 in the morning ,very annoying.

Guest rating:

Good

5/8/2013

"Good Place, Great Staff. "

Arrived at the hotel early! No problem the staff got me a room, they were as good as I have came across. We had two rooms one was excellent and the second was reasonable, really enjoyed the stay and I will return!

Guest rating:

Average

28/6/2013

"very noisy stay"

What a shame. My room was just over the "smoking area" ans despite the double glazing was very noisy from 9 pm. Got louder and louder with pumping music till after 2 am. Make sure your room is not overlooking this. Staff great, bed great but the noise is a problem!

Guest rating:

Good

8/5/2013

"Would have put excellent as it was so special to me. "

Think some customers may be disapointed from the photos shown of the bathroom compared to what it was. (The bath being very old & no robes) Loved the light that looked like an old fashioned microphone

Guest rating:

Average

9/2/2013

"Not outstanding "

Booked this hotel as a special treat for my husbands birthday and our anniversary. Good location but rooms very basic and bathrooms need redoing, lots of noise at night from Temple bar.Couldn`t fault the staff and the food but wouldn`t return

Guest rating:

Excellent

31/1/2013

"We found all the staff to be very friendly and we felt very welcome."

Myself and my girl friend stayed at the Clarence Tuesday through till Thursday and although this was only a short break, we felt very welcome by the staff at the hotel. They all were very friendly really make an effort to make your stay feel special! I would definitely recommend this hotel ! However slightly gutted I didn`t see Bonno :)

Guest rating:

Good

6/10/2012

"-"

Friendly, helpful staff, great location but decor getting a bit tired and voucher system for wifi a complete pain. Why don`t hotels just provide an open access system for their wifi? It doesn`t cost them anything and would be a lot easier for guests. Would stay there again happliy though.

Guest rating:

Some problems

16/9/2012

"Our bath water did not drain. Our room was small and boring.Breakfast was poor."

The noise from the outside bar area was terrible so we had to keep our window closed. The room was very small and stuffy and our bathroom was dingy and the bath water did not drain.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/4/2012

"Outstanding Hotel and Service"

Such a great weekend in Dublin topped by staying in a fantastic hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmosphere was upbeat. The waiter we had on the saturday night in The Tea Room hotel restaurant was brilliant and the South African barman in the hotel bar was equally as brilliant. Thank you The Clarence for making our stay in Dublin so enjoyable. Would definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/2/2012

"Simple high quality hotel"

Good value at £115 a night for double.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/1/2012

"Fantastic Location, Great value for money"

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/4/2011

"-"

Hotel very clean , staff very helpfull=food excellent what more could you ask for

Guest rating:

Some problems

29/3/2011

"Certainly not of a standard worth what I paid."

Guest rating:

Good

6/12/2010

"excellant location "

Found the staff very helpful and polite ..The room was of a very good size and every where clean and tidy..Unfortunately no tea and coffee facilities and the bedroom window was drafty with a cracked pane but other wise we had a great time and would reccommend this hotel as the location would be hard to beat .

Guest rating:

Good

30/10/2010

"balcony and bells"

Guest rating:

Some problems

15/10/2010

"All problems in en suite. Manager gave us a new room. Problem sorted"

I booked the Clarence because of its location and history. One of the twin rooms was fine. The other was dreadful; bath badly stained, water in sink that would not drain away.. Brought this to Manager;s attention and he moved us for which we were grateful; but I had to insist to see the Manager, as the guy on reception told me we could not be moved, as the hotel was full. I stay in a lot of 4 and 5 star hotels and I think there could be more information in the rooms regarding the facilities in the hotel, the menus in the various rooms; what breakfast consists of and the prices. Also both nights we had to call housekeeping for extra towels; one handtowel for two people is not enough. Overall staff were great and very cheerful and helpful.

Guest rating:

Some problems

19/9/2010

"Hotel was quite basic and the bathroom was in need of refurbishment. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/8/2010

"A most professionally managed hotel, excellent service, food, ambiance and staff."

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/8/2010

"Ideally Located, very friendly and efficient staff, very good value for money."

Guest rating:

Average

27/7/2010

"disapointed from the start had better acomodation in close versinity for halfe the price."

when i booked the hotel i requested a nice veiw because this was our 30th weding anaversary and a suprise for my wife when we got into the room the only view we had was of a tin shoot and an old court yard even the curtains were not hung properly one was higher than the other .this upset me from the start as i felt that i had let my wife down. i know that requests cannot always be granted but the person that read my request must be in a position to understand how important it was to me the client (you only have one pearl anaversary)and to act on it even if it was to contact me and inform me that thy could not comply with my request, my booking was made weeks in advance of travel and i was told by the booking agent that i could not have chose a better hotel for my needs. i did not make a complaint at the hotel i didnt want to upset my wife, but when i was asked to give my comments i thought i would .

Guest rating:

Average

22/7/2010

"Good and bad points"

The hotel restaurant and bar etc are lovely and the staff really helpful. I found the room basic and because we had rooms at the back, facing the bars it was very noisy (no air-con so the window had to be open. The rooms lacked tea/coffee making facilities and no dressing gowns. all in all fair value but i would try somewhere else next time.

Guest rating:

Some problems

8/7/2010

"Started in Room 315 but asked for move because of night club noise. Moved to 406 which had no air-co"

Guest rating:

Average

29/6/2010

"Boring and functional hotel room"

I`ve never stayed in such a bland, characterless hotel room. The public areas of The Clarence are very nice and the staff are friendly and professional but the hotel rooms (or at least the one we stayed in) really let it down. Magnolia walls, brown acrylic carpet and brown curtains. Generally tired looking and totally lacking any luxury in its appearance. It was comfortable and clean but no design elements or special touches you`d expect from a hotel of this standard. No air-con and very noisy outside so had to close window and swelter!

Guest rating:

Some problems

27/6/2010

"Rooms"

The rooms were small with no air conditioning and no double glazing hence very stuffy and/or very noisy. The location is great. The public areas are good and the staff very capable.

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/6/2010

"loved it."

best hotel ived stayed in i`ll be coming back,

Guest rating:

Good

14/6/2010

"Pleasant stay but missing a couple of basic features"

Lovely clean hotel, relatively neat rooms and lovely service from staff. I was surprised that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room and the blinds are not easy to operate (resulting in it coming off the rail!).

Guest rating:

Good

24/5/2010

"Staff very helpful and polite. Location Location Location!"

I found The Clarence to be a fab location over all. The staff were more than helpful and polite. The room was quiet and clean. Maybe not 4 star standard. One thing that was not great was the fact that the bath needed painting or replacing. Bit off putting initially. But would recommend this hotel for its location and the staff helpfulness. Would book again.

Guest rating:

Good

19/5/2010

"Very lovely staff!"

We know every member of hotel staff is supposed to make you feel welcome but in reality it tends to feel a little false - not at The Clarence. Everyone we came accross - especially Jacob on the weekend night shift - was friendly, welcoming and warm. The room was ok - the breakfast was nice but you can get that anywhere. The staff is what makes this hotel well worth staying in. Thanks Jacob and co - you were great.

Guest rating:

Excellent

12/5/2010

"A good hotel, run by professionals, in an excellent location. "

More reviews >>

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

The Clarence

6-8 Wellington Quay, Temple Bar, Dublin, Dublin 2