3 star

St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Bedford Avenue, West End, London, WC1B 3AS

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

82% (9228 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Good

28/8/2019

"Excellent location"

Very clean hotel. Staff very good. Breakfast was mostly very good. Just a lack of fresh fruit.

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/8/2019

"-"

Excellent stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/8/2019

"Excellent location in central london"

We enjoyed a great stay at the St. Giles. The room was extremely clean . Breakfast was excellent and staff were friendly and polite. Central position is really convenient for theatres and many tourist locations.

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/8/2019

"Great central hotel"

We arrived at St Giles after a train journey from Cardiff to Paddington by GWR using their Passenger Assist. The receptionists at the Hotel were wonderful. My friend who was unable to book a Disabled room was upgraded to an accessible room with disabled facilities, which she loved, The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was superb, having everything you needed.I would reccommend your company to anyone wishing to combine Hotel and Travel. It was an excellent experience, Thank you for all you did over the few weeks between my booking and our actual stay.

Guest rating:

Good

22/8/2019

"Nice place to stay"

Room was clean and in good condition. Breakfast was lovely.

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/8/2019

"Very central. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/8/2019

"very nice hotel in a very convienient location"

Stayed here for one night as went to see a show which was top of the road and although the room was on the small side it was adequate for one night, we also had a view of the BT tower. It was clean and had a nice shower room and breakfast was very good.We would definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/8/2019

"small but well appointed room"

excellent service

Guest rating:

Average

20/8/2019

"-"

The best thing about this hotel is the helpful staff. There is a very shabby curtain not even hooked properly curtain between the bar and restaurant and flooring. Overall the hotel reminds me of a hostel. Although it is in a good theatre location.I wouldn`t recommend it

Guest rating:

Some problems

15/8/2019

"-"

a bit run down breakfast excellent

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/8/2019

"Perfect for west end "

Excellently positioned for west end and oxford street , lifts a little out dated

Guest rating:

Good

13/8/2019

"-"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the only criticism is only choice of eggs for breakfast was scrambled or boiled, no fried or poached option!

Guest rating:

Good

9/8/2019

"-"

I thought the rooms were small, especially the single room, but the rooms were clean

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/8/2019

"Highly recommend this hotel great location great staff"

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/8/2019

"Friendly, functional, super breakfast choices & perfect location!"

Guest rating:

Good

7/8/2019

"Good but check in could have been improved. "

hotel is really big and a good location. However one room was not ready at 2pm as a consequence were left sat in the reception area watching other people all get the keys to their rooms. Iverta on reception was really good she could see me waiting and did come over and offer me another room on another floor which I took. I had a single room which was very small- I expected that. However the towels they give you were really cheap and thin. The pool is not part of the hotel it is part of the YMCA health club downstairs and they are totally separate. One of the reasons for booking this hotel was that it had a pool had I have known this I may not have booked it. It cost 5pp to use the pool and you also had to hire towels.The breakfast was amazing and the only reason I would recommend this hotel. It was by far the best buffet breakfast I have ever had and I have stayed in a lot of hotels. Proper orange juice proper baked beans bacon was cooked properly. It really was nice!

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/8/2019

"Lovely hotel central for all shops & attractions also tube "

Had a great time, room was small but very comfortable & very clean wih tea/ coffee facilities. There are 3 restaurants available which were all good as was the lovely breakfast. If stay in London again will definitely choose this hotel again

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/8/2019

"Try getting a room away from the elevators. Noisy in the mornings"

Guest rating:

Good

1/8/2019

"Comfortable hotel in central London"

Good 3 star hotel close to west end theatres. Rooms small but cosy and good buffet breakfast

Guest rating:

Good

31/7/2019

"Great location"

Great location - within walking distance of everything and only a couple of minutes from the tube stop. Rooms small but clean. Theatre dinner menu was good value. Check in efficient but lifts slow and busy.

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/7/2019

"Perfect "

Very smart hotel,perfect location and very helpful and friendly staff, wonderful

Guest rating:

Good

29/7/2019

"-"

They don`t tell you about no air con in the rooms, when you book theatre..but food in sage was awesome and could not fault the service..

Guest rating:

Average

28/7/2019

"-"

No structure at breakfast in morning, total chaos. Our shower head rail was hanging off wall and exposing razor sharp rusted screw and shower head itself was missing centre bit so water coming out too fast as there were no holes to steady the stream.

Guest rating:

Poor

25/7/2019

"Lead to believe that parking was available at hotel."

Arriving at hotel only to find out that the parking is no longer available . Had to ask where to park. Not impressed at all as it was a 15 minute walk away from the hotel and then to find out it cost 32. On arrival at the reception desk the lady thought it was funny that we had to walk that far. NOT IMPRESSED. When going in the bathroom to find a dirty towel left hanging behind the door. Breakfast was okay but had to ask for cutlery and only getting scrambled egg. The concierge desk attendant, when asked for a taxi, he gave me the no plate registration of the taxi and said it was only a couple of minutes away. We waited for 15minutes and then went and got one ourselves. We will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. I know it was a bit cheaper but by the time you pay car parking it wasn`t any cheaper. And the congestion charges.

Guest rating:

Average

23/7/2019

"You get what you pay for applies here. "

It took forever to check in and the queue for the lifts was so long it took me 10 minutes to get to the 2nd floor and 15 minutes waiting for a lift when checking out. That being said the room was clean (but small) and the staff were pleasant. Also the hotel is in a great location.

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/7/2019

"Great location"

All was good from the check in until we left. The rooms were fine, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was good for walking to the British museum, Oxford Street, Covent Garden and the Savoy Theatre.

Guest rating:

Good

18/7/2019

"No air - con in July."

Stayed Monday 16th July 2019 for 1 night. Room on 11th floor. Very Nice room, reasonable sized room for Central London. Just around the corner from Tottenham Court Road Tube station, so great location. Good breakfast. Only issue was no air - con in the room!! and the room was very hot. There was a fan provided but we had to have the window open all night to cool the room down, obviously this was quite noisy. Overall good value for money.

Guest rating:

Good

16/7/2019

"Staff helpful and pleasant the room was nice and clean and an excellent breakfast would stay again"

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/7/2019

"Faultless"

A traditional London Hotel with staff who really do go the extra mile for you... a happy staff always willing to have a chat, nothing was too much trouble. Our single rooms were small but cozy, everything we required was in the room. Exceptionally clean and comfortable

Guest rating:

Some problems

14/7/2019

"Good Stay With Some Issues"

Alright place to rest your head for a night but not for a long stay. TV couldn`t only pick up channel Dave, tile kept falling off bathroom wall, and 5 to go into a pool where you have to swim in a circle was not fun

Guest rating:

Average

12/7/2019

"-"

Staff need to learn to smile and a knock on the door at 8.30am by housekeeping was very rude when checkout is actually at 11.00.am.

Guest rating:

Poor

12/7/2019

"Looks okay from outside"

The hotel is awful. Not unclean just very old, no curtains only blinds so the sun shone in as soon as it came up. No air conditioning and it was very hot but you couldn`t leave the window open for the noise outside. No hairdryer or iron. Very disappointing would never come back to this hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/7/2019

"Pretty good"

Lovely rooms just very hot

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/7/2019

"-"

Excellent service very helpful staff and the food was great would stay in this hotel again

Guest rating:

Good

10/7/2019

"Small and clean"

Close to everything-walk 15-20 min to Covent Garden . Oxford street on the corner

Guest rating:

Some problems

9/7/2019

"-"

When we arrived we were told that our room was not ready. Finally got into our room at 4.50pm and was unable to make dinner reservations that were booked for 5.30pm. Room had not been cleaned properly, cup marks on desk and bedside cabinet and hair on a towel. This is the 3rd time we have stayed and It will be our last.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/7/2019

"Great Location "

Staff were very welcoming, comfortable beds and cooked breakfast was a bonus. Location was ideal, definitely would stay again.

Guest rating:

Good

6/7/2019

"-"

Apart from forgetting our hand towels one day and problems with the safe it was a pleasant stay as usual.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/7/2019

"Excellent hotel"

Really good position near the centre of everything

Guest rating:

Some problems

29/6/2019

"Staff training required"

Some staff (reception) were great, others (breakfast) were a bit pushy and some were a bit elusive (no one behind the bar Friday afternoon when people were hot and thirsty). The goats cheese salad was not edible.

More reviews >>

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Bedford Avenue, West End, London, WC1B 3AS