4 star

Thistle Trafalgar, Leicester Square

Whitcomb Street, West End, London, WC2H 7HG

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

90% (624 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/8/2019

"Convenient clean and friendly"

This is a second short break staying here. The position is very convenient just near a Trafalgar Square yet in a quiet street. Lovely room overlooking roof tops. comfy beds, well stocked tea making tray. The hairdryer stopped working but was replaced within ten minutes. Excellent service thankyou The Thistle Trafalgar.

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/8/2019

"Stones throw from Leicester Square "

Fantastic location to a range of theatres and Leicester Square. The room was clean and inviting. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/7/2019

"-"

Excellent position just off of Trafalgar Square... ideal for a short break.

Guest rating:

Good

7/6/2019

"Great location."

Room was good, a little `tatty` in some places. Very good location, close to theatre. Staff very helpful and pleasant on reception.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/6/2019

"Fantastic position. Good for Covent Garden, Soho, the River, Leicester Square."

Very clean and friendly hotel and a reasonably priced breakfast. Whitcomb Street is a quiet street between a very bust Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square. Two small shops directly opposite selling water, snacks etc and a Pret A Manger at end of Road 3 minutes away for breakfast, lunch etc.Also, the London, hop on hop off, tour bus stop at end of road, 3 minutes away, which is very convenient.Very happy with our stay.

Guest rating:

Some problems

28/4/2019

"Booking not found "

On arrival our prebooking was not on the system,luckily a phone call to hotel direct confirmed it and the fact we had paid in full.The room was not serviced the second day and I had to ask for it to be done

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/4/2019

"Very clean and comfortable, excellent service from arrival to departure. "

One of the best hotels we ever stayed at.

Hotel response from Guest Relations Manager

8/4/2019

Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to review us. I`m delighted you enjoyed your experience with us at our superb central location and our team looked after you so well! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the future. Kind Regards,Janina

Guest rating:

Good

24/3/2019

"Customer Service"

The hotel was fine - it would have been nice to have been told that the room key was necessary to use the lift and the electricity in the room! Felt really silly having to call reception and ask after having the lift explained to us by another member of the housekeeping staff.

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/12/2018

"Hotel Direct best ever servoce will use again."

Thistle hotel, excellent customer service and comfort.

Guest rating:

Good

19/10/2018

"Fantastic Location"

The hotel is in an amazing location. Perfect for our theatre and for all of the sights. Not your fault but the hotel had us booked in for the day after we arrived. This caused a lot of stress as initially they said they weren`t sure if they had a room, even though we had the confirmation from yourselves. Once sorted we had a room with amazing views of London landmarks. Perfect

Guest rating:

Good

22/7/2018

"very clean, very friendly staff, centrally located"

A fine hotel...very happy to stay there and will return sometime. Very clean, the staff were very very pleasant and it was in a great location. two negatives: 1. loud building work taking place directly outside the building. 2. hoarding etc up due to building work makes the street dark and narrow and it felt a little scary and unsafe walking back to hotel with daughter at night. That said, we really liked it.

Guest rating:

Good

20/6/2018

"Great location!"

Guest rating:

Good

13/6/2018

"Excellent location, very light room, Proseco on arrival was a nice touch"

Good location, room very pleasant. Couples of negatives: Restaurant not busy yet staff still rushed our meal a bit as they wanted to close, also keen to pack away breakfast in the morning. Service charges added without any consultation.

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/6/2018

"Very well situated "

Very helpful staff and very pleasant Bathroom could be bigger a little small , I would request a walk in shower next time , definitely use this hotel again .

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/5/2018

"The Thistle Trafalgar cannot be beaten for location."

The hotel is between Trafalgar and Leicester Squares and about 5 minutes walk from Leicester Square tube. We were fortunate to get a room upgrade and had a huge bed which was really comfy. Complimentary tea, coffee and water was very acceptable and the staff were very friendly and approachable. A great place to stay in London - we will be back like Arnie.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/5/2018

"Extremely clean and comftable, staff very friendly"

Would recommend it, thank you for a wonderful stay, we ended up staying an extra night.

Guest rating:

Average

17/3/2018

"Double bed only just fitted in room. Building sites either side of hotewith road closures."

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/3/2018

"Rooms clean & tidy. Location excellent for shows & shopping. "

Only 100 yards from Leicester Sq & 200 yards from Trafalgar Sq.

Guest rating:

Average

11/2/2018

"Very noisy hotel. Didn`t get much sleep"

Guest rating:

Good

28/1/2018

"Great location and well appointed hotel in Central London"

Staff very helpful, rooms clean and well equipped, great location

Guest rating:

Good

24/1/2018

"Decent stay at Thistle Trafalgar Square"

Very convenient location,helpful staff,clean room etc,but not sure I`d rate it more than a 3 star Hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

22/12/2017

"Welcoming, clean and bright, good sized room, bathroom compact but OK. Would recommend for theatre v"

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/12/2017

"Great place, staff & room"

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/11/2017

"Thistle The Royal Trafalgar"

Excellent value, particularly the breakfast.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/9/2017

"-"

Lovely room very clean a very charming receptionist

Guest rating:

Average

30/8/2017

"Disapointed"

There wasn`t a proper bar, the bedroom was small, expensive for the quality, and people camping outside the hotel. Overall very disappointed.

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/7/2017

"Great location "

Excellent location,clean and comfortable rooms and very pleasant staff.

Guest rating:

Good

1/6/2017

"Good, comfy room, great location"

Very good value but just average arrival reception by 2 young ladies who didn`t know much.

Guest rating:

Good

31/5/2017

"Great location"

Convenient location for theatre district.Comfortable room.

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/4/2017

"excellent hospitality "

Very warm welcome, friendliest staff I have ever experienced in a British hotel. We will be back.

Guest rating:

Good

2/4/2017

"-"

Minimal tea and coffee making faclities in hotel room. Good comfortable bed, cosy and warm atmosphere. We specified when booking that we would like breakfast included, and we were charged. Misleading. Staff at reception had minimal understanding of English which made check in instructions slightly uncomfortable. Little guidance given from dining staff on how to get food items upon entering breakfast. Room was very clean. Good soundproofing from outside noise. Excellent location. Would recommend to others.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/4/2017

"A really good experience."

Our first time at this hotel but definitely would revisit. Our room on the 5th floor was delightful and a lovely shower. Really quiet surrounding and a very comfortable bed. Didn`t have breakfast but plenty of good cafes close by. Staff at this hotel are so very welcoming and helpful. No negative points.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/3/2017

"-"

Everything was great

Guest rating:

Average

18/3/2017

"-"

Hotel and room were nice and clean but room door let to much light in from lobby and curtain were to small for window so more light let in, glass shower screen leaked water all over bathroom floor, but they were going to change us into another room if wanted and weren`t checking out that day

Guest rating:

Good

18/3/2017

"Great location"

Don`t be put off by the outside façade this is a lovely hotel, The staff were friendly and very helpful our only gripe was the height of the ceiling in the shower, abit low.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/2/2017

"Thistle trafalgar"

Good hotel lovely room, good food, only disappointment was there was no bath in room only a shower.

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/1/2017

"Thistle Trafalgar Square"

The hotel couldn`t be better situated for central London, Hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was my sisters 40th Birthday and they surprised her with a lovely bottle of wine, chocolates and a birthday card waiting for her in our room. Rooms, really good size, very clean and beds very comfortable, the Shower was amazing, the breakfast was lovely too, lots of choice and tasty. Will be staying here again. Thank you to all the staff we met during our stay.

Guest rating:

Good

13/1/2017

"Hotel very clean, excellent location and friendly staff. Breakfast (extra c a little disappointing"

Guest rating:

Good

4/1/2017

"Clan"

Guest rating:

Average

30/10/2016

"Tiny rooms excellent location"

Friendly staff but what a tiny room! Hotel is clean and comfortable and is perfectly situated but doesn`t warrant the star rating.

More reviews >>

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

Thistle Trafalgar, Leicester Square

Whitcomb Street, West End, London, WC2H 7HG