3 star

Bloomsbury Park Thistle Associate Hotel

126 Southampton Row, Bloomsbury, London, WC1B 5AD

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

86% (1624 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/8/2019

"Fabulous staff"

Loved our stay .Reception staff were amazing made us feel very special our room was a little tired but very clean and comfortable .

Guest rating:

Good

25/8/2019

"-"

Hotel room was quite spacious and in a perfect location. A 2 minute walk to Russell Square and about 5 minute walk to Holborn with easy access to central London. Could have done with a minibar in the room and a mirror underneath the Television as the lighting in the bathroom wasn`t great. However the room was definitely value for money and is in a great location.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/8/2019

"Central"

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. It was within walking distance of everything.

Guest rating:

Good

12/8/2019

"Suited our needs very well."

Great location and excellent staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Corridors could do with a bit of colour, a few prints perhaps. We would not hesitate to go back.

Guest rating:

Good

12/8/2019

"Elderly"

Food and service excellent.

Guest rating:

Good

5/8/2019

"Close to Euston Station..."

Not far from Euston Station, well within walking distance... bathroom small but had everything we needed.. bed comfy.. side road can be a bit loud as had window open but didn`t keep us awake..

Guest rating:

Average

4/8/2019

"Average"

Bathroom door didn`t stay shut, room was very hot although a fan was provided to alleviate the problem, staff were not really clued up on the local area so couldn`t answer our tourist questions. But they did have conditioner in the bathroom which is something hotels I have stayed in recently didn`t have. Was under the impression upon booking that the hotel was much closer to the theatre than we thought, but considering this review relates to the wrong show maybe we were near the wrong theatre!

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/7/2019

"-"

Staff were helpful & friendly. Room was small but sufficient for us as we just went back to sleep. I`m a coeliac but the 3 course meal was not gluten free but the waitress called out the chef to see what alternative could be arranged for me. Really impressed. Would go back again

Guest rating:

Some problems

26/5/2019

"-"

Well situated, small rooms (as expected for central London). Restaurant flooded with bad smell of drains - off-putting, wouldn`t eat there. Noisy, even in quiet room.

Guest rating:

Good

19/5/2019

"Weekend stopover"

Hotel easy to find, reception a breeze, even though we turned up early.Room, usual standard, bit tatty round the edges, beds very very comfortable.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/5/2019

"-"

Good value very clean

Guest rating:

Good

23/4/2019

"Central location"

As well as being within walking distance of the British Museum, this hotel is very centrally located and it is easy to access many of the attractions London has to offer.

Guest rating:

Good

15/4/2019

"-"

Accommodation was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. However, they had problems with the heating. It was very cold, but they did provide us with a noisy fan heater.

Guest rating:

Good

6/4/2019

"Ideal for theatre breaks only a short walk to the heart of theatre land. Very clean and pleasant hot"

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/4/2019

"All staff very good in this hotel nothing was to much trouble really enjoyed our stay "

Would certainly stay there again also lovely food

Guest rating:

Average

29/3/2019

"Bedrooms clean but small, dark and poorly light, and VERY basic "

Staff very friendly, efficient and professional.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/3/2019

"Very comfortable and excellent staff"

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/3/2019

"Great hotels "

The hotel is well placed ,walking distance to every were we wanted to go in central London. We arrive 2 hours early and was allowed to get straight into our room . The room was clean and comfy with a massive bed . On departure we are able to leave our bags at the hotel while we went exploring. Would definitely use this hotel in the future.

Guest rating:

Good

21/3/2019

"Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Good breakfast choices."

Guest rating:

Good

16/3/2019

"-"

It was clean and was in a great location.

Guest rating:

Good

16/3/2019

"-"

Room very comfortable for a short stay. Great position close to lots of main attractions and shows. Friendly, helpful staff. Great hotel for a theatre break. Would recommend.

Guest rating:

Average

11/3/2019

"Good location... "

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/3/2019

"Close enough to the tube station to get around, 3 pubs very close by and lots of places to eat on th"

Guest rating:

Good

4/3/2019

"Very Central and lovely staff"

The hotel is a little bit tired and needs some sprucing up but you have everything you need in your room and the staff are really lovely. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. I would definitely stay again

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/2/2019

"-"

Great base only 15 minutes from Euston Train station and the 10 minutes from Hotel to Theatre.Staff were very friendly and helpful giving us directions and looking up what bus route we needed to sight see.Breakfast was very good value and of a very high standard we thought and we thoroughly enjoyed it.Room was perfect, clean and everything we needed for our one night stay.We were allowed to leave our luggage after check out with them so we didn`t have to drag our cases aroundLondon sight seeing and we collected them before we headed back to the train station.We intend to go to the theatre again and we will definitely be booking this very nice hotel again and cannot praise it enough.

Guest rating:

Good

19/2/2019

"Suited our needs. Friendly staff, comfy bed."

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/2/2019

"-"

When we arrived there was a bit of a mix up with our booking but it was soon sorted and we were offered a drink while we waited. The hotel was very smart and very clean, and was in an idealy situated for the theatre.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/2/2019

"It does what it says on the tin!"

Very nice hotel, clean, comfortable and very central for restaurants etc.... also not that far from Euston Station and the theatre we were going to. Close to Oxford Road and Tottenham Court Road and also the brilliant British Meseum.

Guest rating:

Good

27/1/2019

"-"

Room decor a bit outdated (my own opinion only) but very clean and very friendly staff which is what matters. Would definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

Good

26/1/2019

"Surprised no flannel in bathroom "

Guest rating:

Some problems

21/1/2019

"Poor evening meal"

In all our visits to London this was the worst hotel we have stayed in. The room and bed were very small and uncomfortable. Unfortunately the room also looked out onto a busy road and therefore did not sleep well. Also had an evening meal of fish and chips. Fish cooked from frozen and chips like warm. Not recommend

Guest rating:

Some problems

10/1/2019

"Bloomsbury Hotel, Southampton Row."

Staff excellent, courteous, friendly and efficient. Ground floor of Hotel very nice. Floors above that are very tired looking. Badly in need of a repaint. Some depressing views when looking out of windows into .backyard area. No soundproofing whatsoever,constant noise throughout the night making sleep very difficult. . With regard to the room, bathroom and toilet very nice and clean however no fridge no Aircon or Heating controls in the room ., no WIFI. In all not what you would expect from a recommended London Hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/1/2019

"Hotel was good value"

The staff were really nice and helpful

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/1/2019

"Great hotel very comfortable bedroom and excellent restaurant."

Guest rating:

Good

4/1/2019

"Very good"

Everything was fine,apart from when trying to sleep there appeared to be a "boiler ,motor " of some sort that was humming all night.

Guest rating:

Good

21/12/2018

"Comfortable room"

We have stayed here before and it is good for a theatre break. Les Mis on Shaftesbury Avenue, an easy walk. Ate in China town before the show. My only criticism of the Hotel is 12 for breakfast, even for London, that is not justified. We will stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/12/2018

"Welcoming, comfortable and great value for money"

Very comfortable room and this Thistle hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing around London.

Guest rating:

Average

19/12/2018

"Damp"

Rooms are riddled with damp and condensation dripping Down windows. Also no fan in bathroom, rooms are cleaned daily though.

Guest rating:

Good

17/12/2018

"-"

Nice clean warm hotel. Convenient for theatre land. We bought visitor Oyster cards which made travelling around easy. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/12/2018

"ve been more friendly and helpful, comfy beds, lovely food"

More reviews >>

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor

Bloomsbury Park Thistle Associate Hotel

126 Southampton Row, Bloomsbury, London, WC1B 5AD